WE STILL HAVE COPIES OF IRON FLAME WITH SPRAYED BLACK EDGES. If you put isbn # 9781649374172 in your cart you will get the sprayed black edges even tho the website says backordered and plain edges.

Ebony Gate: The Phoenix Hoard By Julia Vee, Ken Bebelle Cover Image
$28.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

Other Books in Series

This is book number 1 in the The Phoenix Hoard series.


Description


A CALIBA 2023 Golden Poppy Book Award Finalist

Julia Vee and Ken Bebelle's Ebony Gate is a female John Wick story with dragon magic set in contemporary San Francisco’s Chinatown.


Emiko Soong belongs to one of the eight premier magical families of the world. But Emiko never needed any magic. Because she is the Blade of the Soong Clan. Or was. Until she’s drenched in blood in the middle of a market in China, surrounded by bodies and the scent of blood and human waste as a lethal perfume.

The Butcher of Beijing now lives a quiet life in San Francisco, importing antiques. But when a shinigami, a god of death itself, calls in a family blood debt, Emiko must recover the Ebony Gate that holds back the hungry ghosts of the Yomi underworld. Or forfeit her soul as the anchor.

What's a retired assassin to do but save the City by the Bay from an army of the dead?

About the Author


Julia Vee likes stories about monsters, money, and good food. Vee was born in Macao and grew up in Northern California, where she studied at UC Berkeley and majored in Asian Studies. She is a graduate of the Viable Paradise workshop.

Ken Bebelle turned his childhood love for reading sci-fi and fantasy into a career in prosthetics. After twenty years he came back to books, writing about plucky underdogs and ancient magical artifacts with deadly secrets. He and his wife live in the Pacific Northwest and he still dreams of growing perfect tomatoes.

Praise For…


Featured in Paste magazine's “Most Anticipated Fantasy Books of Summer 2023”

Praise for Ebony Gate


Ebony Gate is a snarky Harry Dresden meets Shang-Chi, with a dash of Monster Hunter International.” — Kevin J. Anderson, New York Times bestselling co-author of Dune: House Atreides

“A wild, exhilarating ride through a living San Francisco populated with ghosts, magical beasts, and one tough-as-nails heroine. Adventurous and filled with heart, exploring the struggles of a bloody past and familial duty, Ebony Gate is a spectacular start to what promises to be an engrossing series.” — Andrea Stewart, author of The Bone Shard Daughter

Ebony Gate is a bizarre and exciting thrill ride! It’s Doctor Strange meets Shang-Chi with a big dose of original characters, modern fantasy, and dynamic action. Highly recommended!” — Jonathan Maberry, New York Times bestselling author of the Joe Ledger Thrillers and Kagen the Damned

“It’s like reading my favorite martial arts movies, with magic that will blow your mind.” — Brian D. Anderson, bestselling author of The Godling Chronicles

“Perfect for fans of Fonda Lee’s The Green Bone Saga series.”— San Francisco Bay Times

“Set against the vivid background of San Francisco's singular neighborhoods, the novel's plot is clever and wildly adventurous, boasts an authentic sensibility, and is populated with well-drawn characters.” — Shelf Awareness, starred review

“Put this book in the hands of fans of Fonda Lee’s ‘Green Bone Saga.’” — Library Journal



Product Details
ISBN: 9781250837431
ISBN-10: 125083743X
Publisher: Tor Books
Publication Date: July 11th, 2023
Pages: 448
Language: English
Series: The Phoenix Hoard